Teaser Bild

Phosphating

The prerequisite for producing a phosphate coating is providing a metallically clean surface. All grease residues (drilling oils, corrosion protection agents, fingerprints, etc.) and other impurities on the surface of the parts to be treated must, therefore, be reliably removed prior to the phosphatising process.


A phosphate layer is chemically generated by immersing the workpieces into a heated and acidic zinc, manganese, zinc-calcium or tri-cation phosphate solution. A chemical reaction occurs through the pickling attack of the metal surfaces with the substrate. This is followed by hydrogen-formation and a shift in pH value on the metal surface. Low solubility phosphates are formed, uniformly distributed across the metal surface as permanently anchored crystallites.

 

Properties of a phosphate coating:

  • Light to dark grey manganese, zinc or zinc/calcium phosphate coating consisting of secondary and tertiary manganese, zinc or zinc/calcium phosphates.
  • Tightly fixed on the base material.
  • Fine to coarse crystalline appearance.
  • Coating-forming layer (3–20 µm), has to be taken into account for fitting pieces.
  • Corrosion protection oils and varnishes can be absorbed very well due to the presence of many capillaries in the coating, resulting in a very high corrosion protection.
  • Phosphate coatings are electrically non-conductive, i. e. the insulation resistance is high.
  • The phosphate coating can be applied as a corrosion protection or adhesion base for subsequent coating treatments, or varnishes or for improvement of sliding properties to reduce the sliding friction (non-cutting deformation).
  • Damaged coatings will hardly be tunnelled by rust.

Teaser Bild

Phosphatieren

Die Voraussetzung für das Erzeugen einer Phosphatschicht ist die Schaffung einer metallisch reinen Oberfläche. Alle Fettrückstände (Bohr-Öle, Korrosionsschutzmittel, Fingerabdrücke etc.) und andere Verunreinigungen auf der Oberfläche der zu behandelnden Teile müssen deshalb vor dem Phosphatierprozess entfernt werden.


Eine Phosphatschicht wird chemisch durch Tauchen der Werkstücke in einer erhitzten, sauren Zink-, Mangan-, Zink/Calcium- oder Trikationen-Phosphatlösung erzeugt. Hierdurch ergibt sich eine chemische Reaktion durch Beizangriff der Metalloberflächen mit dem vorliegenden Substrat. Anschließend erfolgt eine Wasserstoffentwicklung und eine Verschiebung des pH-Wertes an der Metalloberfläche. Es bilden sich schwerlösliche Phosphate, die gleichmäßig verteilt sind, und fest verankerte Kristallite auf der Metalloberfläche.

 

Eigenschaften einer Phosphatschicht:

  • Hell- bis dunkelgraue Mangan-, Zink-, oder Zink/Kalziumphosphatschicht bestehend aus sekundären und tertiären Mangen-, Zink-, oder Zink/Kalziumphosphaten.
  • Fest verankert auf dem Grundmaterial.
  • Feinkristallines bis grobkristallines Aussehen.
  • Aufbauende Schicht (3–20 µm). Dies muss bei Passungsteilen bedacht werden.
  • Durch Vordhandensein vieler Kapillare in der Schicht können Korrosionsschutzöle und Lacke sehr gut aufgenommen werden, wodurch ein sehr hoher Korrosionssschutz möglich ist.
  • Phosphatschichten sind elektrisch nichtleitend, d. h. der Isolationswiderstand ist hoch.
  • Die Phosphatschicht kann als Korrosionsschutz oder Haftgrund für nachfolgende Beschichtungen, bzw. Lackierungen oder zur Verbesserung der Gleiteigenschaften zur Verminderung der gleitenden Reibung (spanlose Verformung) angewendet werden.
  • Beschädigte Schichten werden kaum von Rost unterwandert.